Belmont Stakes

Belmont Stakes Belmont Stakes is one of the three races in the Triple Crown, which includes The Kentucky Derby and The Preakness Stakes. As a result, not only does this race have prestige within horse racing, it also has prestige with those who enjoy gambling. The Belmont Stakes is also different because it’s contested on a dirt track instead of a turf track. This race takes place every year at the end of May or early June at Belmont Park in New York City. Let’s take a look at how this prestigious race came to be! The Belmont Stakes was first contested in 1867, and it was originally known as the “Belmont Derby.” The race was created to commemorate the opening of the Jerome Park Racetrack. The inaugural race was won by a horse named Ruthless, who was ridden by future Hall of Fame jockey James McLaughlin. McLaughlin went on…

Read more